Easy-Peasy Pizza

 

One of my favorite things to make is homemade pizza. The process is actually very simple, and it tastes delicious!! Although “pizza” is often not considered as a health food, I think differently. How can this be? Because of the quality of ingredients- they are clean and simple.

Here is how I make it!

When I make pizza- I do it right. All organic and real ingredients. You can make the dough from any type of flour; white all-purpose, whole wheat, gluten-free, quinoa, almond. I find that white flour makes for a soft crust, whole wheat flour makes a heartier more dense crust, and gluten-free often carries more of a crumbly corn consistency (clearly if it is corn based). I typically prefer to choose a mix, split evenly of whole-wheat and white flour. However, there are many different flour options out there, and it’s your pizza, so cook to your taste buds delight!

Let’s get started…

In a big bowl add 1/2 a cup of warm water and one packet of yeast. Then add 1/2 a cup of flour, 1/2 a tsp salt, 1 tsp agave nectar or raw cane sugar, and 1 tsp olive olive and mix well (I just use a fork).

Then add the remaining 1 cup of flour. At this point I use my hands and just work it- it will develop into a ball of dough. You can add a touch of water (a tbsp at a time) as needed if the dough is too dry. You want it to be smooth but not sticky. You can use a kitchen aid mixer if you want to make the dough, however I really like using my hands and making everything from scratch when I’m cooking for myself and loved ones.

Once you have created your pizza dough ball, lightly flour clean counter surface and knead dough for 10 minutes or until smooth.

Grease a big bowl with olive oil.

Place dough in bowl and make sure all sides are greased with olive oil. Cover bowl with a clean kitchen towel, and place in a warm place to rise for twenty minutes.

After that, punch the dough with your fist (rawr!) and then recover and place in the refrigerator for two hours.

Ok that was the “hardest” part- the dough.

So what to do in the mean time while the dough is rising?

Make a lovely cup of coffee and wrap Christmas presents!! Trader Joe’s made re-usable Christmas grocery bags this year- perfect for gift wrapping!

Time to eat!

Set oven to 375 degrees. Sprinkle clean counter top with flour and roll out pizza dough. My pizza’s are never circular. I like odd shapes- more rustic and whimsical!

Sprinkle baking sheet or pizza pan with corn meal. I like doing this because it gives the crust a crunchy base.

Place pizza dough on the baking sheet. Drizzle top of dough with olive oil. Spread a light layer of pizza sauce, then add cheese and then toppings! I added mushrooms, garlic, olives, parsley, salt and pepper.

Cook for 25 minutes.

Pull from oven, cut, plate, and enjoy!

YUM….

**Healthy Grocery Find**

I love Mrs. Meyer’s Basil Counter Cleaner- and going with the Italian pizza theme- what better than Basil counter cleaner! Smells so good.

Happy Healthy Eating!

Your Healthy Grocery Girl

 

Leave a Reply

